8/365

Processed with VSCOcam

“Art is an image-using system. In order to create, we draw from our inner well. This inner well, an artistic reservoir, is ideally like a well-stocked trout pond. We’ve got big fish, little fish, fat fish, skinny fish– an abundance of artistic fish to fry. As artists, we must realize that we have to maintain this artistic ecosystem. If we don’t give some attention to upkeep, our well is apt to become depleted, stagnant, or blocked. Any extended period of piece of work draws heavily on our artistic well. As artists we must learn to be self-nourishing. We must become alert enough to consciously replenish our creative resources as we draw on them– to restock the trout pond, so to speak. I call this process filling the well.” – Julia Cameron

This week I’m talking ‘other’ creative habits. Yesterday’s was keeping a notebook and sketchbook. Today it’s one way I’m “filling the well.” In this year of creative habits I’m reading more. I read before but this year I want to read more often and read more variety. My new rule for myself is “No work after (kids’) bedtime.” Most nights I’m using this time to read. I need new stories, new characters, new thoughts, new locations, and new ideas to fill my well. Here’s the mix that’s currently beside my bed:

What books are filling your well?

Leave a Reply

